Empowering Parish and Town Councils in Northamptonshire

Happy Birthday Shadow Councils

Happy Birthday Shadow Councils

Monday 11 May 2020, marks an important day in the history of Northamptonshire. Today is the start of the "shadow period" for the new unitary councils: West Northamptonshire Council and North Northamptonshire Council.

Regulation 10(d) of The Local Government (Coronavirus) (Structural Changes) (Consequential Amendments) (England) Regulations 2020 provides that the shadow period "means the period beginning with 11th May 2020 and ending on the fourth day after the 2021 election day".

A shadow council is one that has legal existence but is not yet responsible for the delivery of statutory services. It has shadow members (appointed to it by legislation) and shadow, or interim, officers, in particular a Chief Executive, Monitoring Officer and Finance Officer.

The shadow councils will meet infrequently, maybe three or four times during the shadow period. At the councils' first meetings, which must be held before 4 June 2020, they will appoint Executive Committees, which will meet as necessary to make key decisions. The Executive Committees will comprise 2 councillors from each of the constituent principal councils.

11 May 2020 is likely to pass by without much fanfare or ceremony, but nevertheless it is the day that the concept of local government reorganisation in Northamptonshire becomes a reality.

Follow https://futurenorthantswest.org/ and https://futurenorthantsnorth.org/ for updates.

Posted: Mon, 11 May 2020 09:33 by Danny Moody

Tags: LGR