Empowering Parish and Town Councils in Northamptonshire

Budgeting for clerks and finance staff

Session overview:

This session is aimed at officers of parish & town councils, who are involved in preparing and monitoring budgets.

Topics include:
• setting a budget and precept
• Contingencies and reserves
• how the council tax base affects the budget
• Inflation
• budget monitoring

By the end of this session you will:
• Understand how and when to prepare a budget
• Know how to approve and issue a precept
• Be aware of the factors that affect a budget
• Understand how to manage a budget

Who Should Attend
Officers and councillors that want to get to grips with preparing and managing a budget.

Date & Time

September
Tuesday 7 September 2021 10:00-11:30 - fully booked
Tuesday 21 September 2021 10:00-11:30 - fully booked
Thursday 23 September 2021 10:00-11:30 - fully booked

October
Tuesday 5 October 2021 10:00-11:30 - fully booked
Thursday 7 October 2021 10:00-11:30 - fully booked
Tuesday 19 October 2021 10:00-11:30
Thursday 21 October 2021 10:00-11:30

November
Tuesday 2 November 2021 10:00-11:30
Thursday 4 November 2021 10:00-11:30
Tuesday 16 November 2021 10:00-11:30
Thursday 18 November 2021 10:00-11:30
Tuesday 30 November 2021 10:00-11:30

Venue
Online

Course Tutor
Steve Parkinson, The Parkinson Partnership LLP

Cost per delegate
£30 Member
£60 Non Member

Please note: the course is open to all county associations and will therefore have clerks and councillors not from Northamptonshire in attendance. We hope that this will allow for this course to be delivered more often and throughout the year.

Make your booking now

Cancellation policy

Last updated: Thu, 16 Sep 2021 09:25